Security Council

The Masonic United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the Masonic United Nations (TMUN), charged with ensuring Masonic international peace and security, accepting new members to the Masonic United Nations and approving any changes to its charter. Its powers include the establishment of peacekeeping operations and international sanctions as well as the authorization of economic actions through resolutions – it is the only body of the Masonic United Nations with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member. The council will hold its first session in 2020.

Like the TMUN as a whole, the Security Council was created to assist masonic organizations, in maintaining world peace. The Security Council will orgnize interventions and peacekeeping missions with the efforts of member to increased dramatically in scale.,

The Security Council consists of fifteen members that serve as the body’s permanent members. These can veto any substantive resolution, including those on the admission of new members or nominees for the office of Secretary-General. In addition, the council has 10 non-permanent members, elected on a regional basis to serve a term of two years. The body’s presidency rotates monthly among its members.

Resolutions of the Security Council are typically enforced by TMUN peacekeeper forces voluntarily provided by member states and funded independently of the main TMUN budget.